Lewis and Williams honored as Carlinville Runners of the Year

Lewis and Williams honored as Carlinville Runners of

By Jackson Wilson

The Carlinville cross country Cavaliers have more accolade hardware to add to their collection.

On Dec. 9, Molly Lewis and Cale Williams represented the Cavies as two of 30 cross country athletes that were honored as “Runner of the Year” at Bluff City Grill in Alton. East-Alton Wood River cross country coach and Alton Road Runners Club president Russ Colona presented the awards.

Williams and Lewis each recieved a plaque along with a $10 First to the Finish gift card and “Runner of the Year” T-shirt for their accomplishments.

Prior to the awards, Carlinville guest speaker Charlene Helton addressed the honorees and provided them with some words of wisdom regarding their futures – such as collaborating sports with college academics and the advantages that are gained through the virtues of being a student athlete. In addition, she explained the discipline and drive that is required to carry out these roles.

Two recipients from 14 additional area schools were also recognized. The other 2018 Runners of the Year are Lydia Roller (Staunton), Trent Markezich (Staunton), Laina Wilderman (Southwestern), Caden Bohn (Southwestern), Sophia Paschal (Alton), Cassius Havis (Alton), Kati Wells (Civic Memorial), Parker Borth (Civic Memorial), Olivia Richey (Carrollton), Ella Richey (Carrollton), Megan Douglas (East-Alton Wood River), Ryne White (East-Alton Wood River), Abby Korak (Edwardsville), Roland Prenzler (Edwardsville), Mira McAtee (Father McGivney), Tyler Guthrie (Father McGivney), Hannah Tonsor (Jerseyville), Cole Martinez (Jerseyville), Madison Throne (Litchfield), Will Carlile (Litchfield), Riley Vickery (Marquette), Jake Rummerfield (Marquette), Olivia Badalamenti (Metro East Lutheran), Jonah Wilson (Metro East Lutheran), Janelynn Wirth (Roxana), Cree Stumpf (Roxana), Alyssa Kowalsi (Triad) and Jarod Willis (Triad).

Cale Williams (left) and Molly Lewis (right) were recently named the Carlinville Runners of the Year. Photo provided.