All-Star basketball games take place

All-Star basketball games take place

3 23 17

It was raining three-pointers Sunday at the 15th annual Carlinville Rotary Club/Country Financial All-Star Basketball Classic.

The East, coached by Jay Metzger of Pana, and the West, coached by Bunker Hill’s Jay Goltz, teamed for 32 combined three-pointers in the West’s 115-102 victory.

The West led 26-21 after one quarter and 52-50 at halftime. The West opened a 83-72 after three quarters behind Jeremy Watson’s four three-point makes in the quarter. Watson, from Carrollton, made seven three-pointers in the game for 21 points and garnered game’s MVP honors.

Brady Jamieson of Carlinville scored 14 points and Tate Wargo of Gillespie had 12 points with four three-pointers. Adam Walton of Carlinville had two points, and Southwestern’s Collin Baumgartner had eight points.

Cole Arnett of Greenfield/Northwestern finished with eight points; Gillespie’s Nick Price had seven points; Dane Sellars of Bunker Hill had six points and Chase Williams of Bunker Hill had five points.

On the east side, Kyle Lynch of Pana scored 15 points, as did Seth Foster of Lincolnwood. Trenton Eckert of Pawnee had 14 points as did Hillsboro’s Steven Fenske. Mt. Olive’s Ethan Swenson had 13 points.

Overall, the West made 20 three-point baskets and were one of two at the foul line. The East made 12 three-point baskets and were four of nine at the foul line.

The three-point contest winner was Nick McMillan of Pana made 10  to win the competition, edging out Carlinville’s Jamieson and Greenfield-Northwestern’s Arnett who made nine each.

Baumgartner won the slam dunk contest with a perfect score of 50, outlasting Lynch of Pana who scored a 45.

Southwestern’s Jason Darr was named All-Star Classic Coach of the Year, leading the Piasa Birds to a 19-10 record.

Girls game

Bret Tuetken of Hillsboro coached the East to a comeback 80-73 victory over the West, coached by Carlinville’s Darrin DeNeve, in the girls all-star showcase Sunday evening.

The East led 19-15 after a quarter, and it was tied 40-40 at the half. The West took a 61-57 lead after three but the East rallied to take the game.

The West was led by game MVP Shea Sullivan of South County, with 14 points. Local competitors Olivia Olroyd of Carlinville scored four points; Sam Burns of Southwestern had three points; Lydia Albertine of Carlinville had two points; Ally Bires of Gillespie scored six points; Hannah Lair of Carlinville scored six points; Madelyn Allman of Bunker Hill scored two points; Grace Zachary of Carlinville had eight points and Mallory Novack of Southwestern had nine points.

The West made nine three pointers and were four of seven at the foul line.

For the East squad, they were led by Litchfield-Lincolnwood’s Abby Brockmeyer with 15 points. Denzelle Moore of Hillsboro had 12, as did Mt. Olive’s Zoe Murphy. Brianna Henke of Mt. Olive and Chelby Harden of Pawnee had 11 points each.

Mt. Olive’s Courtney Kernich had two points; Jill Niehaus of Mt. Olive had one point; Caitlyn Fields of Mt. Olive three points; Hannah Tomasko o North Mac two points. The East made four three pointers and 10 of 18 free throws.

Daylee Denton of Pana made 10 three-pointers to win the three-point competition, edging out Bethany Randall of North Greene and Hannah Robinson of Carrollton who had nine each.

Tuetken of Hillsboro was named All-Star Classic Coach of the Year as the Lady Toppers went 24-8 on the season.