Spring all-conference teams from CHS announced

Spring all-conference teams from CHS announced

6 8 17

Carlinville was represented on the South Central Conference all-conference softball, baseball and soccer teams for the 2017 season just completed.

Carlinville soccer finished 15-5-2 and won a regional championship under head coach Ashley Hayes.

Freshman Rory Drew and senior Grace Zachary were named to the first-team all-SCC, along with Gillespie’s Paige Niemeyer, Hillsboro’s Tess Saathoff, Litchfield’s Jade Taylor and Elizabeth Holan; Pana’s Shania Schoonover, Roxana’s Emma Lucas and Cloe Copeland, and Staunton’s LeaAnn Johnson.

Carlinville junior Lynde Gibbs and senior Lydia Albertine were named to the second-team all-SCC, along with Greenville’s Noelle Beans; Hillsboro’s Annie Mattson, Peyton Sarsany and Hattie Malloy; Litchfield’s Bailey Lentz, Sydney Hoehl and Lilly Taylor; Pana’s Daylee Denton and Katelin Weideman;Southwestern’s Jessee Scott and Releigh Baker; Roxana’s Alyssa Auterey and Haley Milazzo and Avery Dillon of Staunton.

On the third team were freshman Skylar Nickel, sophomore Lexi Egelhoff and sophomore Gabby Marchiori of Carlinville; Gillespie’s Mia Ross; Greenville’s Ally Cantrill; Hillsboro’s Lexi Lusk; Litchfield’s Jordan Morgan; Pana’s Savannah Weishaar and Kameron Cole; Southwestern’s Zoe Swift and Raigen Baker and Staunton’s AnnaMarie Shearlock.

Goalkeeper first-teamer was Braden Lackey of Roxana. Litchfield’s Val Furlong and Pana’s Emily Gatons were second-team. Hillsboro’s Abbi Jett was third team.


The Cavaliers completed a 7-13 season and had two third-team all-conference selections in junior pitcher Alyssa DeSpain and sophomore catcher Jordyn Houseman.

Other third-team members included pitcher Grace Nichols of Staunton; catchers Ashley Heard of Litchfield and Ashleigh Painter of Staunton; infielder’s Nancy Fritzsche and Lauren Meadows of Greenville; Lauryn Tuetken of Hillsboro and Raechel Brandon of Southwestern; outfielder’s Sydney Henrichs and ally Clay of Gillespie and Kendra Jacob of Hillsboro; utility Grace Sims of Pana and Kaitlyn Mills of Vandalia.

First-team all-conference included pitchers Addison Bryant of Gillespie and Tessa Beckham of LItchfield; catcher Mackenzie Kasarda of Gillespie; infielder’s Rylee Jarman and Rylee Sarti of Gillespie; Southwestern’s Molly Novack and Staunton’s Marcy McCalla; and outfielders Katie Schaake of Hillsboro; Abby Stalhut of Roxana and Mayci Wilderman of Southwestern. Also first-team was utility player Ally Bires of Gillespie.

On the second team were pitchers Kai Hanner of Hillsboro and Bailee Nixon of Southwestern; catcher Mallory Novack of Southwestern; infielder’s Lexie Bussman of Gillespie; Sammie Matoush of Hillsboro; Abby Palen of Roxana and Phoebe Booher of Roxana; outfielders Jaidyn Ackerman of Greenville, Olivia Stangler of Roxana and Natalie Guesewelle of Staunton and utility player Jordyn Ackerman of Greenville.


Carlinville had two on the all-conference squad, including second-team all-conference Jake Ambuehl, a sophomore; and third-team infielder Jake Hannig, a senior.

The first-team was led by Southwestern pitcher Collin Baumgartner and Vandalia pitcher Riche Well; Vandalia catcher Nathan Casey; infielders Tate Wargo of Gillespie; Zach Golenor of Roxana; Luke Golike of Southwestern and Richie Well of Vandalia; outfielder’s Ryan Hutchinson of Greenville, Brock Seymour of Southwestern and Kelly Jones of Vandalia; and utility players Christian Moss of Greenville and Jack Little of Southwestern.

Other second-team members were pitchers Rylee Bernot of Gillespie; Ryan Hutchinson of Greenville and Ben Lowis of Southwestern; catcher Dalson Cummings of Southwestern; infielder’s Drew Frey of Greenville, Alex Schreiber of Hillsboro, Andrew DeLaCruz of Litchfield and Collin Baumgartner of Southwestern, along with Ryan Best of Staunton; outfielders Billy Beckham of Litchfield, Griffin Bianco of Staunton and Marcus Zimmerman of Vandalia; and utility player Andy Cruthis of Greenville.

On the third team were pitchers Tate Wargo of Gillespie; Lucas Carlson of Greenville and Devin Ray of Staunton; catcher Christian Hernandes of Hillsboro; infielders Joey Carter of Gillespie; Brock DeWerff of Pana, Logan Presley of Roxana, Nick Yates of Staunton and Alec Schroeder of Vandalia; outfielders Logan Doll of Greenville; Austin Tallman of Staunton, Troy Evans of Southwestern and Jordan Gregg of Hillsboro; and utility player Adam Boeck of Gillespie, Ill.