Rosters set for Rotary All-Star hoops games

Rosters set for Rotary All-Star hoops games

The Carlinville Rotary Club welcomes The Cubby Hole as a corporate partner for the 11th Annual Carlinville Rotary Club All-Star Basketball Classic. Paul Boente, left, and Ellie Albracht of The Cubby Hole in Carlinville.

Fifty of the top boys and girls basketball seniors from Mid-Illinois will be playing in the 11th Annual Carlinville Rotary Club All-Star Basketball Classic to be held Sunday, March 24, at Carlinville High School.

A total of 20 high schools will be represented in the event that includes 26 girls and 24 boys. The All-Star Classic is sponsored by Country Financial representatives in Macoupin, Greene and Jersey counties, along with The Cubby Hole in Carlinville.

Girls rosters
Players on the girls West squad are Taylor Donohoo and Paige Stacy of Roxana, Abby Ross and Adele Cook of Carrollton, Kate Gorman of Jersey Community, Alexis Burns, Chelsea Gill, Shelby Jarman and Haylie Kirkwood of Gillespie, Jamie Geisler of Southwestern, Cassidy Downs of Carlinville, Emily Elliott of North Greene and Amber Kloppe of Waverly-Franklin-New Berlin.

Kevin Gray of Gillespie will coach the West All-Stars.

Players on the girls East team are Molly Sloman and Madison Starks of North Mac, Hannah Garrels of Mt. Olive, Annie Jessup and Emily Pacini of Auburn, Allie Schoonover, Hannah Funneman, Charley Lett and Nadine Vaughn of Pana, Shelby Gray and Mercedes Johnston of Hillsboro, Sophie Fairman of Staunton and Madison Merano of Pawnee.

Pana’s Ken Schuster will coach the East All-Stars.

Boys rosters
Representing the boys West team are Kyle Kearby and Aaron Ragusa of East Alton- Wood River, Erick Sosa of Southwestern, Kaiden Davis and Justin Roesch of North Greene, Kyle Kleeman of Carlinville, Gabe Roethe and Mason McEvers of Greenfield- Northwestern, Sam Medford of Jersey Community, Jordan Harr of Carrollton and Hunter Reine and Jordan Briggs of Roxana.

Alan Cooper of Carlinville will coach the West All- Stars.

The East boys squad includes Tommy Ulinski of North Mac, Bo Davis, Austin Hollaway and Billy Bartle of Staunton, Kevin Young and Mason Steffens of Litchfield, Noah Krager of Lincolnwood, Wes Copelin of Auburn, Zack Mathis of Mt. Olive, and Evan Huber, Austin Leigh and Devon Wright of Class 1A Third Place finisher Nokomis.

Litchfield’s Drew Logan will coach the East All-Stars.

Each game will be played in four 10-minute quarters.

Event starts with 3-Point contest
The Country Financial 3-Point Shootout for the girls will begin at 4 p.m., followed by the girls All-Star game at 4:30 p.m. The Country Financial 3-Point Shootout for the boys will be held between games, starting at 6:15 p.m., with the boys All-Star game to follow at 6:45 p.m. The Cubby Hole Slam Dunk contest will be held at halftime of the boys game.

At halftime of each game, the Carlinville Rotary Club will present the Mid-Illinois “Coach of the Year” awards. An MVP award will also be given following each game.

In the girls game last year, Pana’s Alyssa Waddington scored a game-high 22 points and Litchfield’s Shelby Smith added 18 to lead the East All-Stars to a 77-70 victory over the West. Waddington, who was named Most Valuable Player, helped the East out-score the West 22-11 in the fourth quarter. The East leads the West 6-3 in the series.

In the boys game last year, Roxana’s Chase McPeak hit a 3-point field goal with 1.1 seconds left to lift the West All-Stars to a 101-98 win over the East. McPeak’s game winner was set up on a pass from Carrollton’s Joey Coonrod, who scored 13 points and was named Most Valuable Player. The West leads the series 7-3.

All proceeds from the day’s events will go to the Carlinville Rotary Club to help with community projects throughout the year.

Admission information
Admission to the Mid-Illinois All-Star Basketball Classic is $5 for adults. Children 6 and under are admitted free. The Carlinville Rotary Club will provide concessions with pizza by the slice, popcorn, and candy along with Gatorade, soda and bottled water.