PSC all conference squads

PSC all conference squads

Several Bunker Hill and Mt. Olive baseball players were named to the 2016 Prairie State Conference all-conference baseball team this past spring.

Among the locals on the first team were outfielders Jonny Darrah of Mt. Olive and Adam Brewer of Bunker Hill; infielder Mitch Bumgardner of Mt. Olive and designated hitter Caden Monke of Mt. Olive.

Other first-team all-conference selections include pitchers Reid Detmers of Nokomis and Brady McAfee of Marquette; catcher Ryan Archibald of Nokomis; outfielder Jacob File of Marquette; infielders Eli Jacobs of Metro East Lutheran; Andrew Herpsteith of Nokomis and Paul Kubicek of Metro East Lutheran and utility Brenden Friesland of Nokomis.

On the honorable mention all-PSC team included pitcher Blake Marks, outfielders Christian Hunter and Cody Blacklock of East Alton-Wood River; infielders Marks, Liam Maher of Marquette and Zach Weinman of Marquette; DH Zach Wells of East Alton-Wood River; and utility Paul Kubicek of Metro East Lutheran.


The Prairie State Conference softball all-conference team was well-represented with Bunker Hill and Mt. Olive players.

On the first team were pitcher Rachel Kernich of Mt. Olive, catcher Courtney Kernich of Mt. Olive, outfielders Zoe Murphy of Mt. Olive and Sydney Schwegel of Bunker Hill; and infielders Mallory Schwegel of Bunker Hill and Jill Niehaus of Mt. Olive.

Also on the first team were pitchers/outfielder Morgan Moxey of East Alton-Wood River; Morgan Moxey of East Alton-Wood River; infielders Haley Shewmake of East Alton-Wood River and Autumn Boliard of Nokomis; designated hitter Peyton Young of East-Alton Wood River and utility player Ciera Frields of Metro East Lutheran.

Honorable Mention selectees include pitcher Haley Brown of Nokomis; outfielders MaKenzy Sorsen of Mt. Olive and Claire Cunningham of Metro East Lutheran; infielders Emma Taylor of Marquette and Karmyn Cox of Nokomis; and utility player Courtney Beneke of East Alton-Wood River.