Petitions available for Illinois Soybean Board district director elections

Petitions available for Illinois Soybean Board district director

4 20 17

Petitions are available for growers interested in running for open director positions within the Illinois Soybean Board. Petitions can be obtained from the Illinois Department of Agriculture, local University of Illinois Extension offices and the Illinois Soybean Board office and must be filed by May 15.

Macoupin County is in District 12, which also includes Calhoun, Greene, Jersey, Pike and Scott counties. The director currently serving District 12, Roberta Simpson-Dolbeare of Nebo, is eligible to serve another three-year term. Other districts holding director elections this year are District 1 — Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson and Winnebago counties; District 5 — Fulton, Knox, Marshall, Peoria, Putnam and Tazewell counties; District 7 — Ford, Iroquois and Vermilion counties; Distrcit 9 — Cass, Logan, Mason, Menard, Morgan and Sangamon counties; and District 13 — Bond, Fayette, Marion and Montgomery counties.

To be eligible to serve as a director, a candidate must be an Illinois resident and a resident grower of the district he or she seeks to represent, of legal voting age and be a contributor to the soybean checkoff. Petitions filed with the Illinois Director of Agriculture must contain signatures of at least 250 or five percent, whichever is less, of the qualified producers from the same given district in which the candidate is seeking office.

Any person deciding to run as a write-in candidate must also meet the eligibility requirements and submit a Declaration of Intent form to the Illinois Director of Agriculture no later than 5 p.m., Friday, June 30. Elections for ISB directors will be held at county extension offices in the districts where vacancies exist on July 6.

The Illinois Soybean Board manages and invests Illinois soybean checkoff funds in research, promotion and education programs that enhance soybean production and use and support national and international market development. For more information, visit