Nominations open for FSA county committee elections

Nominations open for FSA county committee elections

MACOUPIN COUNTY (July 5, 2018) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency encourages all farmers, ranchers and FSA program participants to take part in the Macoupin County committee election nomination process, which opened June 15.

FSA’s county committees are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA and allow grassroots input and local administration of federal farm programs.

Committees are comprised of locally elected agricultural producers responsible for the fair and equitable administration of FSA farm programs in their counties. Committee members are accountable to the Secretary of Agriculture. If elected, members become part of a local decision-making and farm program delivery process.

A county committee is composed of three elected members from local administrative areas (LAA). Each member serves a three-year term. One-third of the seats on these committees are open for election each year. County committees may have one or more appointed advisors to further represent the local interests of underserved farmers and ranchers. Underserved producers are beginning, women and other minority famers and ranchers and landowners and/or operators who have limited resources. Other minority groups, including Native American and Alaska natives, persons under the poverty level and persons who have disabilities are also considered underserved.

For 2018 in Macoupin County, an election is being held in LAA 3, consisting of Shipman, Hillyard, Gillespie, Cahokia, Brighton, Bunker Hill, Dorchester, Mt. Olive and Staunton Townships. Only individuals in this LAA are eligible to be nominated for the 2018 election.

Any eligible voter can nominate a producer/landowner on an FSA-669A nomination form. Producers/landowners can also nominate themselves. Nominees must be eligible to vote in the election and must also sign the nomination form.

Forms are available at the Macoupin County FSA office, 300 Carlinville Plaza, Carlinville, IL 62626. All nomination forms for the 2018 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA service center by Aug. 1.

For more information, refer to the FSA fact sheet “Eligibility to Vote and Hold Office as a COC Member” and FSA-669A, the nomination form, available at, or contact John P. Nolan, CED at the Macoupin County FSA office, at (217) 854-2626, et. 102.