Football Cavaliers come together for final time at team banquet

Football Cavaliers come together for final time at

By Jackson Wilson

On Dec. 6, the Carlinville football Cavaliers capped off another historic season with their awards banquet at the Carlinville Elks Lodge.

This marked the end of an era for one of the most successful senior groups in the history of the program – Jarrett Easterday, Kyle Dixon, Blaze Ballowe, Jake Ambuel, Matt Schmidt, Nick Walton, Will Walton, Ethan Wallace, Tucker Hughes, Logan Rosentreater, Cyler McClain, Jonathon Stilwell,  Jordan Bressler, Will Kincaid, Ryan Cook, Alex Davis, Collin Gibbel and Chase Lawless. Head coach Chad Easterday had nothing but praise and adoration as he bid his final farewell to each of them.

“Thanks for the dedication over the past four years. You have all set the standard for Carlinville football very high. Your unselfishness toward the program has made you all a great success,” C. Easterday said.

The 2018 Most Valuable Player Award was presented to both J. Easterday and Dixon. Will Walton recieved the Most Improved Player Award.

The offensive award winners were Dixon (
Wide Reciever/Tight End), Ballowe (Offensive Line) and Wallace (Running Back).

Rayme Lewis (Linebacker), Joe Lewis (Scout Team Player), J. Easterday (Scout Team Player), Rosentreter (Defensive Line),  Dixon (Defensive Back) and Schmidt (Special Teams) were honored as this year’s defensive award recipients.

The junior varsity players of the year were Michael Byots (offensive) and Aidan Naugle (defensive).

Mason Patton (offensive) and Colton Robinson (defensive) were recognized as the most valuable freshman players.

J. Easterday, Dixon, Ballowe, Ambuel, Schmidt, R. Lewis, Stilwell, Rosentreter, McClain, Wallace, N. Walton, Hughes and Colton DeLong made up the 13 Cavaliers that were chosen as South Central all-conference representatives.

The Cavies finished the season with 12 wins (12-1 overall), which tied the school record for the most victories in a single campaign. They earned their first undefeated regular season since 2001 and their first outright conference title since 2007. In the last four years, Carlinville has won 42 of 50 games while appearing in three state quarterfinals, two state semifinals and capturing the 2016 state runner-up trophy over that span.

All Conference Players were, from left, Kyle Dixon, Jarret Easterday, Tucker Hughes, Jake Ambuel, Nick Walton, Colton DeLong, Rayme Lewis, Logan Rosentreter, Johathan Stilwell, Ethan Wallace, Cyler McClain, Blaze Ballowe, and Matt Schmidt. Photo by Cory Walton.

Pictured are, from left, Most Improved Will Walton, Co-MVP and Scout Team Player Captain Jarret Easterday, Co-MVP and MVP Wide Receiver and MVP Defensive Back Kyle Dixon, MVP Running Back Ethan Wallace, MVP Offensive Line Blaze Ballowe, MVP Line Back Rayme Lewis, MVP Defensive Line Logan Rosentreter, and Special Team Player Matt Schmidt. Photo by Cory Walton.

Pictured are, from left, Scout Team Player Joe Lewis, MVP JV Offensive Player Michael Byots, and MVP JV Defensive Player Aidan Naugle. Photo by Cory Walton.