County board recognizes Eagle Scouts

County board recognizes Eagle Scouts

6 15 17

Macoupin County Board shifted the agenda of its June 13 in order to open with recognition of five area boys who have recently completed the requirements to become Eagle Scouts. Board Chairman Mark Dragovich gave each of the scouts a certificate of recognition and had them tell about the projects they completed. Those honored were Jonathan Stilwell of Troop 63 in Staunton and Connor Walker, Adam Emery, Lucas Mefford and Killian Mitchell of Troop 62 in Carlinville.


During a discussion over the minutes from the recent Finance Committee budget hearings and regular committee meeting, Committee Chairman Dave Thomas mentioned pending legislation that may have a future impact on the county’s income from state sources. County Clerk Pete Duncan explained that three of the pieces of legislation are currently awaiting the governor’s signature: one that would create standardized recording fees throughout the state, which Duncan estimates would result in a loss of about $120,000 in revenue per year for the county; one that creates automatic voter registration, which would increase the workload, postage and printing costs in the Elections Office; and another that requires grace period registration at nursing homes, which would necessitate extra equipment and labor. A fourth bill, which would create permanent early voting hours starting 15 days before every primary and general election, was approved by the Senate but not the House; Duncan said it is expected the legislation will be revisited in the future, though not right away. If it were to pass as written, it would require approximately an additional 65 overtime hours, plus security costs, with no cost reimbursements from the state.

In the fiscal year 2016-17 month nine budget review, Duncan noted that revenues and expenditures should both be at approximately 75 percent at this time; currently, expenditures are at about 71 percent and revenues are at about 70 percent. He noted that the state was slow in May about sending its distributions to the county.

Other discussion

Macoupin County Public Health Department Administrator Kent Tarro spoke briefly about some of his department’s current and upcoming offerings, including free cancer screenings offered for the entire month of June, a six-week Take Charge of Your Health workshop that begins June 27, and back to school health fairs that will be offered July 11 and Aug. 8. For more information about any of these offerings, call (217) 84-3223.

Michael Scherer of West Central Development Council spoke briefly about grants available through the council, noting that it has submitted about 60 grants in the Macoupin County area in the last 25 years, bringing in a total of approximately $12 million. Many of the grants are for water and/or sewer projects.

William Jacoby asked the board to install speed limit and stop signs in and around Hagaman to help control traffic and offered to cover the cost. Because doing so will require a speed study by law, the matter was referred to the Road and Bridge Committee.

The following changes were made to the county board committees: Bernie Kiel was taken off Labor Management and appointed to Road and Bridge; Mike Tranter was taken off Environmental Health and appointed to Finance; Tony Wiggins was taken off General Administrative and appointed to Executive; Don Brown was appointed to General Administrative, Labor Management, Environmental Health and Liquor Commission; Tranter was appointed vice chair of the Liquor Commission to replace the late Robert Vojas; and Ruth Ann Pomatto was appointed vice chair of the General Administrative Committee to replace Wiggins.

Three resolutions were approved: one amending the real estate stamp appropriation, one approving a non-union parity raise for the Highway Department in accordance with past practice, and one regarding reimbursing the sheriff’s purchase of new vehicles line item with funds received from the insurance company after a squad car was totaled. That resolution was amended to also account for another $4,800 received from the insurance company in addition to the approximately $4,600 originally reimbursed.

The board also approved the minutes of the May 9 board meeting, June 5 Building and Grounds Committee meeting, June 6 Executive Committee and Public Safety Committee meetings, June 7 Road and Bridge Committee and General Administrative Committee meeting, and June 8 annual Liquor Commission meeting; reappointed Ruth Ann Pomatto and Cathy Petrak to the Illinois Valley Economic Development Board for two-year terms expiring June 30, 2019; approved a 50/50 petition for Nilwood #38, at a total cost of $30,000, with the county to pay half; conducted a brief executive session review, after which they agreed to release the minutes from executive sessions dated Dec. 13, 2016, Feb. 14 and May 9; adopted the prevailing wage ordinance; approved a local agency agreement for federal participation for a Highway Safety Improvement Program project through which many guardrails throughout the county will be replaced; and approved the consent agenda, including the monthly claims and officers, mileage and per diem, revolving loan fund, county clerk and animal control reports, as well as communications regarding an invitation to a forum on clean energy and a notice from Ameren regarding tree trimming in the Brighton/Bunker Hill area.

At its June 13 meeting, Macoupin County Board honored local boys who have achieved the rank of Eagle Scout. Pictured are, from left, Board Chairman Mark Dragovich, Adam Emery, Jonathan Stilwell, Lucas Mefford, Killian Mitchell and Connor Walker.