CMS baseball, cross country in action

CMS baseball, cross country in action

MT. OLIVE – A four run second and five-run fifth propelled Dave Schwartz’ Carlinville Middle School baseball team to a 12-5 win on Monday afternoon over Mt. Olive on the road.

Offensively for Carlinville, Alex Strutner was 1 for 4 with three runs; Dustin Roberts 1 for 3, triple, run, two RBIs; Levi Yudinsky run; Carson Wiser 2 for 3, double, four RBIs; Lonny Rosentreter 2 for 4; Ayden Tiburzi 1 for 5; Cooper Gossard 2 for 3, two runs; Dawson Westnedge 2 for 4, run; Zaiden Reese run; JD Byots 2 for 4, three runs, RBI; and Cole Tapscott RBI.

Rosentreter pitched six innings to get the win, allowing four earned runs while striking out four.

Greenfield/NW 18, CMS 3

Tuesday’s road contest at Greenfield had CMS losing by an 18-3 score to Greenfield/Northwestern.

Carlinville took a 3-0 lead in the top of the first, but that momentum was quickly negated by a nine-run first and a nine-run third inning by the unkind hosts.

Roberts went 1 for 2 with a double and run scored; Wiser 1 for 2, double, run, RBI; Tiburzi 1 for 1, run, RBI; Byots 1 for 1, RBI.


Cross Country

CARLINVILLE – The CMS cross country Warriors opened the home season with the Carlinville Early Meet on a rainy late Tuesday afternoon.

Lydia Roller of Staunton won the race in a time of 14:17. Carlinville’s Jillian Stayton placed third, clocking in at 15:02.

Caroline Gibbel was 11th at 16:13; Sophia Ruffatto 12th at 16:14; Annabelle Hulin 16th at 16:56; Braylee Gilmore 17th at 16:58; Julianna Schmidt 18th at 16:58. Also for Carlinville, Addie Yudinsky 19:10; Melanie Murphy 19:30; Haley Hancock 20:09; Acacia Dyer 20:35; Maddie Lowrance 22:19; Lexi Dawson 22:20; Sammie Eulberg 22:24; Emily Lewis 24:46; Paige Parmenter 25:12; Kendall Rice 26:55.


Collin Leonard finished third to lead the CMS Warriors boys team Tuesday, finishing in 14:02.

The winner was James Kennedy of Williamsville at 13:32.

Levi Yudinsky finished sixth for the Warriors at 14:14; Ethen Siglock 11th at 14:48; Damon Sharp 18th at 15:17. Also for the Warriors, Cameron Strubbe 15:44; David Harris 15:58; Trieton Park 17:00; Henry Kufa 17:22; Cash Jones 17:59; Charlie Wilson 18:01; Max Wilson 19:01; Dane Rosentreter 19:24; Brock Henson 20:27; Mark Uettry 21:01; Brock Goodman 21:04; Carter Lowrance 22:22; William Hoesing 24:15; Jackson Davis 24:54; and Jacob Petrovich 25:16.

CMS is at Rochester’s Invite Saturday.