CHS math team wins regional at SIU-E

CHS math team wins regional at SIU-E

EDWARDSVILLE (March 1, 2018) – As far as numbers are concerned, Carlinville High School will certainly be happy with the number one.

One is not the loneliest number at CHS, as the song by Three Dog Night might suggest.

The CHS mathematics team won the Class 2A Illinois Council of Teachers of Mathematics (ICTM)regional competition last week at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville.

As a result, the whole team qualifies for the ICTM state competition at the University of Illinois on May 5.

Carlinville’s Algebra I team of Abby Way, Josh Davis, Elsa Mefford, Brigid Dunn and Tori Hartson finished second, with Way finishing second individually.

In geometry, the team of Colton DeLong, Sarah DeNeve, Reagan Kulenkamp, Jack Kessinger and Rachel Koebbe finished first as a team, while DeNeve placed first and Koebbe second as individuals.

The Algebra II team of Logan Rosentreter, Collin Gibbel, Andrew DeNeve, Cora Gray, Adin Fleischer and Tyler Behme finished first, with A.DeNeve first and Behme second individually.

The pre-calculus team of Robert Wiggins, Taylor Wills, Grayson Armour, Paul Kibe, Natalie Kaganich and Karly Ambuel finished second, with Wiggins finishing first individually.

Additionally, the junior/senior two person team of A.DeNeve and Wiggins finished first and the calculator team of Wills, Kaganich, Behme, Kulenkamp and Davis finished first.

In oral competition, Armour and Michael Douglas finished second.

Members of the regional champion Carlinville High School math team from SIU-Edwardsville, front row, from left, are:  Rachel Koebbe, Colton DeLong, Adin Fleischer, Collin Gibbel, Cora Gray, Taylor Wills, Sarah DeNeve, Emma Griffith. Second row, left to right:  Abby Way, Brigid Dunn, Josh Davis, Elsa Mefford, Tori Hartson, Tyler Behme, Andrew DeNeve, Sami Park. Third row, left to right: Robert Wiggins, Karly Ambuel, Ali Hurley, Natalie Kaganich, Jack Kessinger, Michael Douglas, Reagan Kulenkamp, Logan Rosentreter Fourth row: Paul Kibe and Grayson Armour.