Carlinville soccer Cavaliers honored at banquet celebration

Carlinville soccer Cavaliers honored at banquet celebration

By Jackson Wilson

The Carlinville boys’ soccer coaches, families and community members all gathered together in the Carlinville High School cafeteria on Monday, Nov. 19 to extend a warm gratitude of thanks to 28 Cavaliers for a memorable season that resulted in an outright South Central conference title and regional runner-up finish to eventual state champion Quincy Notre Dame.

Seniors Andrew DeNeve, Tucker Jones, Trey Gall, Nate Burns, Landon Eades, Tucker Green, Adin Fleischer, Michael Douglas, Matt Schmidt, Travis Osborn, Brandon Miller and Tristen Burns were all thanked for their commitments throughout their athletic careers.

“It’s always hard to see a group graduate from our program. I have grown very close to these 12 seniors and I hope that they are leaving this team as better people than they were when they first joined the program. I look forward to watching these guys grow into successful adults. Now, we turn our sights to next season. We have a great group returning for next year,” said head coach Tim Johnson.

Schmidt, also a kicker for the Carlinville football Cavaliers, posted a team-leading total of 19 goals and 48 points for the season, which earned him the Offensive Most Valuable Player Award.

The Defensive Most Valuable Player Award was given to two recipients – Eades and  DeNeve. Eades’ speed and versatility on the ball was an key factor in preventing Carlinville’s opponents from maintaining a consistent offensive rhythm. DeNeve saved 127 shots out of 155 while picking up 16 wins and nine shutouts in his final season as the Cavaliers’ goaltender.

Junior Mitch Proctor was honored as the Most Improved Player. Osborn and Fleischer both won the Commitment Award. Junior Matt Reynolds and Douglas were both recognized for their energy and success in winning 50/50 balls out of the air with the “Atta Boy” Award.

The Cavaliers were well represented on the South Central all-conference team with 10 total recipients. Schmidt, Gall, Fleischer and DeNeve were chosen as members of the first team. Eades, Matt Reynolds and Levi Yudinsky recieved second team honors. N. Burns, Douglas and Trieton Park all earned a spot on the third team roster.

The Cavaliers finished 16-5-1 overall and 8-0 in South Central conference play.

Senior Landon Eades was named Defensive MVP, senior Matt Schmidt was named Offensive MVP, junior Mitch Proctor was named Most Improved Player and senior Andrew DeNeve was named Defensive MVP. Photo by Cory Walton.

Seniors Travis Osborn and Adin Fleischer both received the Commitment Award. Photo by Cory Walton.

Junior Matt Reynolds and senior Michael Douglas both received the Atta Boy Award. Photo by Cory Walton.