Amended budget approved by school board

Amended budget approved by school board

5 18 17

Carlinville’s Board of Education Monday approved a motion to adopt the amended budget for fiscal year 2016-17.

Revenues were readjusted for a negative difference of $149,975 than originally budgeted. The main revenue change is one less payment of state transportation reimbursement of $80,400 and a reduction in projected revenue from the county facility sales tax of $100,000.

Expenditures for the budget had a decrease of $191,611. A main part was $230,000 of expenditures form revenue generated from the county facility sales tax will not likely occur this fiscal year.

The amended budget overall surplus was $41,636. The original budget was at $1,715,301, with the final amended budget at $1,673,665.

The district spotlight had a presentation from high school principal Patrick Drew and CHS faculty Stacey Steiner about the Democracy Schools Recognition.

CHS is in the process of completing phase three, filling out an application, to become recognized as an Illinois Democracy School.

The program was launched in 2006 to recognize and support high schools that are dedicated to expanding and improving civic learning experiences across the curriculum.

An on-site visit was performed May 12, and person doing the visit was very impressed on how CHS offers its courses designed toward democracy.

If approved, Carlinville will be one of very few schools in this part of the state to be a Democracy School. Those who are deemed will receive a $3,000 stipend for the first year to continue the promotion of civic duties in the area. A $1,000 stipend will be offered each year thereafter.

The board approved a motion to accept Heinz’ Furniture of Carlinville’s bid of $66,777 to replace stair treads and areas of carpeting at the CHS/CMS complex.

Dave Leonatti, district architect, said that he was comfortable with the proposal that was offered. Heinz was the lone bid received for the project.

The board recognized members of the PTO, including Paula Campbell, Amber Rush and Stacy Lewis.

Elise Schwartz, Carlinville Primary School principal and Roy Kulenkamp, CMS principal, recognized Rush, Lewis and Campbell for their leadership in the PTO. Rush and Lewis help with the elementary school PTO and Campbell has been with the middle school PTO for eight years.

The groups have been instrumental in providing aid and setting up for district events such as school dances and other activities, Schwartz and Kulenkamp both said.

The final day of school is scheduled for Monday, May 22, with a teacher’s inservice on May 23. There are four emergency days that have not been used and May 26 had been designated as the final day of school.

Graduation at Carlinville High School is scheduled for 3 p.m. May 28.

Employment motions

The board approved the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the Carlinville Education Association and the Board of Education for the 2017-18 and 2018-19 school years.

The board approved a motion to assign Roy Kulenkamp as Intermediate/Middle School principal for 2017-18 at a salary of $91,500.

Motions were approved to accept resignations of faculty members Andrea Card and Monica Sottoriva, effective after the 2020-21 school year.

The board also voted to accept the resignation of Marissa Mitchell as an instructional aide effective after this school year.

Melissa Fry was re-employed as a teacher in the Pre-K program and Karen Rosentrater was employed as an instruction aide, both for the 2017-18 school year.

The board also approved to accept the retirement of Lisa Kleeman as school nurse, effective Aug. 17.

Other business

Proposed changes to the Board of Education Board Policy Manual second reading were approved by the board.

Also approved were a resolution to sell or destroy surplus equipment, including kitchen equipment, electronics and text books

A resolution was adopted to abate $1,000,000 from working cash fund to the education fund.

Volunteers leaders from the Carlinville PTO were recognized by the Carlinville Unit School District #1 Board of Education at Monday’s meeting. From left, are: Becky Schuchman, Carlinville Intermediate Principal; Elise Schwartz, Carlinville Primary School Principal, Stacy Lewis and Amber Rush of the elementary school PTO; Paula Campbell of the middle school PTO; and Roy Kulenkamp, Carlinville Middle School Principal.